Missing Grace- S.L Scott

About this book:34454463

From New York Times Bestselling Author, S.L. Scott, comes this story that will captivate and consume from beginning to end. This is a must read for anyone who believes in true love.

Move on with your life, they said.

Forget her, they said.

But how could Ben Edwards forget the woman who was supposed to be his forever? When Grace Stevens disappeared–without a word, without a trace–she took half his soul with her.

Despite the heartbreak, Ben tried. He tried to take their advice by pursuing his career. He tried to find fulfillment in his work. He tried to find peace.

Grace had been the love of his life. Her fingerprints were on every surface of his existence. He had success and wealth. He had everything, except her.

Then fate stepped in one serendipitous night. The hope he’d held on to for three long, agonizing years appeared before him in the form of a picturesque beauty.

Was she real, or an apparition returning to haunt him? He wasn’t sure, but he wouldn’t stop until he found his missing love. Every minute mattered, and he wouldn’t waste a second chance.

Release Date: 19th March, 2017

2-star

What I think?

Warning: Excessive ranting ahead.

This was one book that really disappointed me. No shit.

I went into this book really excited because the blurb sounded awesome and plus the cover was hot, but universe seems hell bent on teaching me the lesson that “DO NOT JUDGE A BOOK BY IT’S FUCKING COVER YOU IDIOT!” Idiot in case being me.

Obviously.

In the beginning, I had some serious pangs in the heart because Grace goes missing, and the author does a great job of showing us how devastated Ben is, and how much it destroys him that the love of his life left him, but he does not give up, and keeps looking for her for the past 2 years without resting. But then this happens-

This book ladies and gentlemen.

*sighs*

You know you done fucked up when the reader gets bored 20% into the book. And that’s stretching it. But I decided to persevere and keep reading, chanting “it will get better it will get better”.

It did not.

If possible it got even worse, and characters I had initially liked I started hating, aka Ben.

Holy fucking Lucifer’s ass was Ben pathetic!

And I’m not talking the Ron Weasly pathetic where he pines over the girl he thinks is in love with his best friend. No, I’m talking the Bella Swan pathetic where nothing gets done and you’re questioning you life choices that lead to you reading that book.

Am I making sense?

Because this book didn’t to me.

Ben moves to Chicago where Grace disappeared, and stays back and searches for her, even tho he has a girlfriend and he’s pretty much moved on from her, even tho he hasn’t, even tho the world thinks he has, but he knows in his heart he hasn’t.. and now I’m confused!

When he goes to a fundraiser/awarding ceremony for the medical community to support his new girlfriend, he sees a familiar face- a face he had lost 2 years ago. But that face does not recognize him.

Turns out Grace amnesia!

*gasp*!

Whaa-?

I did not see that coming!!!

*cue eyeroll*

Seriously, the reveal couldn’t have been more bland if the author tried.

This book in short-

Ben: whaa whaa boo boo Grace!!!!*yells and fights with her*
Ben: Grace!!!! Nooo you cannot leave me!*cries*
Ben: I love you Grace, but I have moved on, but I love you Grace more than I will ever love anyone!
Ben: Grace!
Girl: No.
Ben: Grace!!
Girl: No!
Ben: Meet me tomorrow and I’ll tell you everything. And I’ll stalk you and kiss you even when you don’t want me to, because silly little girl, that is how you make someone fall in love with you.
Girl: I don’t know you, but you look hot so why not, even though my fiance tells me not to, your hotness is calling to me.
Ben: You’re Grace.
Grace: Really? OMG! I look just like your ex-fiance so I must be her! Because that never happens.
Ben: I love you. You love me. Your fiance is a dickhole. Let’s fuck.
Grace: You’re definitely hotter. Lets fuck.
Ben: Wahahaha! I win bitch!

I was really disappointed. The writing left little to wish for, and the character development was really half-assed. The entire storyline was just plain bad. I kept waiting for something to happen, but really nothing ever does. It got annoying real quick. I don’t think the ending has ever let me down this bad before. I think it was mostly because I kept expecting it to get better. I really shouldn’t have. One star because it was bad, and one star because of the first chapter. I don’t recommend this book, but if you do read, don’t tell me I didn’t warn you.

I’m out of here.

arc

—Get this book—

goodreads-letter-logo

About the author:

S.L. Scott is a former high-tech account manager with a journalism degree pursuing her passion for telling stories. She spends her days escaping into her characters and letting them lead her on their adventures.

Live music shows, harvesting jalapenos and eating homemade guacamole are her obsessions she calls hobbies.

Scott lives in the beautiful Texas hill country of Austin with her husband, two young sons, two Papillons and a bowl full of Sea Monkeys.

Leave a Reply

