To Catch Her- Alice K. Wayne

About this book:thebrothersramirezebook-amazon-9-23-38-pm

Book one of the Brothers Ramírez

Tomás Ramírez was the youngest son of his organized crime family, and the only smear they carried on their perfect lineage. He was brazen, defiant, and shamelessly sexual, with a sadistic streak that left me lying awake at night wondering what he would do to me, or my body, next. He was the type of man that made me hate him while I clung to him.

Oh… and did I mention he’s blackmailing me?

Mikayla Jones was a sweet, quirky girl, with a dirty past, trying to make her way alone in the world. She was doing just fine in her warm bed of lies, until I came along and burned it all to hell, making her face the truth and confront her demons.

“Why?” you might ask… because I’m in love with the silly little girl, and I won’t stop until she’s mine.

Release Date: 24th February, 2017

2-star

What I think?

Warning: Lot’s of cussing and ranting and spoilers ahead. If you plan on reading this book then don’t read this review, but if you wanna know why you shouldn’t waste your time on it, then please continue.

Oh-kay.. lets do this shit.

Before anyone reads this review further, I want you to go and check out the blurb of the story, and tell me if it promises you a dark contemporary romance with a psychotic protagonist or not, or was I just that big of an idiot to think it did.

I couldn’t connect with this story at all. From the very beginning, the characters bored the fuck out of me. There is a story line, but I was just too confused to care about it the entire time. Something something about three brothers and a girl named Mikaela and another badass chick named Rosalita and something something happens and bla bla bla.

This is how I pictured the Ramírez brothers  before I started reading the book:

Ramírez brothers.png
But this is what I was given in the book:

ramirez-brothers-boo

We are apparently not dealing with hardened badass criminals, no, we are instead placed in front of preppy pretty boys with guns in their hands.

Mother fucker. I couldn’t bring myself to like anyone in this book. Rosalita and Santiago had potential, but I was just too fucking frustrated with the rest of the characters to begin to feel any kind of liking for them.

I’d like to say that we are dealing with a really dark romance considering there are mobsters, and betrayals and blackmailing, but I’m very sad to say that that is so not the case.

This is what we get instead of all that goodness:

  • A wannabe journalist (supposedly very good at her job, and also innocent as fuck because I don’t know why) who has a past of cam girling where she wore a mask to protect her identity (which she very conveniently forgets), who walks into the den of a crime lord thinking that they might not know anything about her intentions of writing a book on them after she publicly announced it on her social media, because really how stupid are you? That was Mikaela, (our heroine) by the way. Interested?
  • A stupid, sliver-spoon fed, pretty boy who uses his family name to do shit all. No seriously, he does nothing in this book. His supposed blackmail? Yeahhh I’m not seeing how that works. He’s such a baby that if I were in place of Mikaela, I would have kicked him in his nuts and he would have cried and said sorry. Tomas was fucking pathetic. Oh yes, I forgot, meet Tomas Ramiraz.
  • A blackmail so stupid that it doesn’t make shit sense. She wore a fucking mask, what the hell are you gonna expose? Heh?
  • A crime family that doesn’t like to kill and doesn’t like to do anything bad to the society, but they sell prostitutes, and drugs and shit like that.. Oh but they have a justification. Apparently since the government is corrupt, and the justice system is not efficient they are the good guys. You know when I read a mafia book, I like to know that the characters have some sort of self awareness. Otherwise it just comes off as dumb.
  • Insta-love. (Cue eyeroll)

Mikaela and Tomas were plain annoying. They whined about everything and complained like little kids. It really got on my nerves. Isn’t she supposed to be a journalist? How can she be so innocent about the ways of the world? Especially since she basically grew up with an alcoholic abusive mother? If I could’ve, I would’ve gone into the book and staked that idiot with my 6 inch high stilettos.

And let’s just talk about Tomas. He is 28? The son of one of the biggest mobsters of the Miami Mafia? How the hell is he such a big pussy and not dead yet? There is no character to this guy. Seriously. He seems so desperate for attention from the female population that I am surprised that Mikaela even gave his whiny ass the time of her day. But then again, she was almost worse wasn’t she?

I’d like to say that it was me and not you, but in this case it was definitely this book.

Why I did not give 1 star? Because things seemed a bit interesting in the last chapter, even if I am confused as fuck. No, I don’t recommend this book to anyone. And no, I don’t know if I’ll be reading the next one. I kind of want to know what happens to Santiago and Mikaela, but I probably won’t bother.

arc

About the Author:

alicekwayneauthorpic

Alice K. Wayne is a paranormal romance/ erotica writer straight out of the Motor City.

From a young age books became her favorite escape, and that love eventually turned to writing as well.

Alice loves traveling, is a self proclaimed foodie, sushi addict, selfie Queen, and like all good Detroiters, is completely obsessed with Red Wings hockey.

If you like thick books with twists, turns, depth, and LOTS of steamy scenes these books are for you!

facebook-letter-logo1twitter-filled-502quill-with-ink-52

2 thoughts on “To Catch Her- Alice K. Wayne

    • LOL I was soo disapointed I can’t tell you. Even more because the cover is beautiful! I feel offended for the cover! And tell me about it. I feel like books should come with a warning “Potential sucky content ahead”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

