A Thousand Letters- Staci Hart

About this book:

32797060

Sometimes your life is split by a single decision.

I’ve spent every day of the last seven years regretting mine: he left, and I didn’t follow. A thousand letters went unanswered, my words like petals in the wind, spinning away into nothing, taking me with them.

But now he’s back.

I barely recognize the man he’s become, but I can still see a glimmer of the boy who asked me to be his forever, the boy I walked away from when I was young and afraid.

Maybe if he’d come home under better circumstances, he could speak to me without anger in his voice. Maybe if I’d said yes all those years ago, he’d look at me without the weight of rejection in his eyes. Maybe if things were different, we would have had a chance.

One regretted decision sent him away. One painful journey bought him back to me. I only wish I could keep him.

*A contemporary romance inspired by Jane Austen’s Persuasion*

Release Date: 9th February, 2017

5-star

What I think?

Dear god, this book was so beautiful!

The language had such a haunting quality to it, that I just couldn’t put it down.

From the very beginning of the book, Hart grips your heart in an iron hold, and refuses to let go. At certain instances, I really felt like my heart was more than just skipping it’s beats. This book was so lyrical, and emotional that it felt like one of tragically beautiful flute songs that makes you want to weep in the beginning, but warms your heart up so impossibly by the time you’re done hearing it.

And yes, this was one of those books. You know, those.

*whispers* the ones I’d sell my soul get silly.

Elliot, is a 24 year old English graduate who aspires to become a writer someday, and since she has no proper job so as to say, she nannies her sister’s children and in lieu she has a place to stay- at her sister’s house- who is also a raging bitch. (I know I am bad people, but Mary takes the cake.)  But everything changes when one day (which is also how the book begins), Elliot’s best friend Sophie arrives at her doorstep a mess, and with a news- her father & Elliot’s mentor, Rick, had brain cancer, and he had just a few days to live.

That brings another someone right back home.

Wade.

The man Elliot has loved her entire life, and the man she regrets letting go the most.

Wade was in army and was stationed at Germany. When he hears the news of his father’s impending death, he is destroyed, and gets home as quickly as he could- the same home he avoided coming to in the last 7 years because he had been rejected and lost the girl he loved there.

Her name in my mind was a curse I couldn’t escape, a ghost that haunted me day after day, year after year since I’d seen her last so long ago.

To say that the tension was thick would be an understatement.

Those two had more unresolved feeling for each other than Perry has for Zayn.

There were a lot of unspoken things on both their parts, and the love they felt for one another was just one of them.

I know that some might call Elliot a weak character, and that she couldn’t stand up for herself. But see here’s the thing- as readers (especially female readers) we like to have strong, sassy and sarcastic female leads, because that is empowering to us as a race, and also because it’s feels really good to see a 5ft nothing woman with curves that go on for days, stand up to and completely own a 6ft something muscular giant of a man. Don’t deny it people, we both know I’m right. So during all that admiration for that character, we forget that there are different types of women too- the quiet and shy type (not the ones with hidden vixens), and the introverts. Just because you are an introvert, doesn’t mean that you are weak. And Elliot portrays that best.

She was a strong character, a very strong one might I say, that was constantly called weak because she chose her battles carefully. Did I want her to stand up to Mary and bitch slap that bitch? Hell yes! Did I want her to kick Wade where the sun don’t shine when he left right after having sex with her? Yes!

But I agree with her, it wouldn’t have changed them. That was how they had been, and just because she chose to react to them now wouldn’t have made a big deal unless they wanted to change themselves. She knew her worth, did not have self-confidence issues (much), and fought when it was needed of her.

“I hear you. Your silence is deafening, the answer clear. Since I’m sorry will never be enough, I’ll only say goodbye.”

And Wade, lets just talk about him for a bit.

Was I absolutely in love with him? Yes. Did I want to hit him in the head? Yes. Was he an asshole that deserves to get kicked in the nut? Eh.. after that night, I think yes. But he did made up for it, so maybe let’s not hit him too hard yeah?

He was a beautifully flawed and complex character. We know from his own admission that he was still deeply in love with Elliot, and we also know that he truly regretted his behavior the night before he left for training camp.

Was I resentful of his reasons to keep her at an arms bay? No.

I don’t think it’s unreasonable on his part, because the situation under which he came home were extremely stressful- with his father being on his death bed. Him and Elliot had a lot to talk about, and falling in love again (because he was sure that would happen) could be a scary thing that consumes all of your thoughts. It felt right for me that he wanted his father to be his sole point of concentrations for the remaining of his days on earth.

His character was like an onion- the more you peeled the more layers there were.

The feelings he portrayed were not far from that of a real soldier who has fought in the war. Something so brutal changes you in ways that you never thought you would. Was it really so unreasonable that he found himself unworthy of her love? Think of it this way, he throws a tantrum (because no one can tell me otherwise) and loses the love of his life, then he walks into the army and endures more loss, and lives to see more horrors, and then he comes home to a dying father. His mind was really at an edge, and I for one loved how realistic Hart made it. I don’t think I would have loved this book remotely as much as I did, if it had not been for the terrible way Wade had acted in the end. Character flaws like those really makes the book feel real to you.

Needless to say, Hart did a marvelous job on this one. It was completely on point with how much grief to pour into the reader, and how much to say to keep them on an edge, because I for one couldn’t stop reading. Harts writing might have something to do with that too. Just a teeny-tiny thing though. OK who am I kidding. I fell in love with this book just because of the language. Hah! There you go!

Time stretched out in the moment, the two of us caught in it like a web, but we didn’t struggle, didn’t fight. Instead, we witnessed the past standing in front of us, alive and intact.

royal junkie button—Get this book—amazon-filled-50goodreads-letter-logoFree in Kindle Unlimited!

cover-wrap-atl

About the Author:

img_8015

Staci has been a lot of things up to this point in her life — a graphic designer, an entrepreneur, a seamstress, a clothing and handbag designer, a waitress. Can’t forget that. She’s also been a mom, with three little girls who are sure to grow up to break a number of hearts. She’s been a wife, though she’s certainly not the cleanest, or the best cook. She’s also super, duper fun at a party, especially if she’s been drinking whiskey.

From roots in Houston to a seven year stint in Southern California, Staci and her family ended up settling somewhere in between and equally north, in Denver. They are new enough that snow is still magical. When she’s not writing, she’s reading, sleeping, gaming, or designing graphics.

facebook-letter-logo1twitter-filled-502goodreads-letter-logoquill-with-ink-52

Amazon/Pinterest/Newsletter

Leave a Reply

