Whispers and the Roars- K. Webster

About this book:32195246

When my eyes are closed, the monster can’t ever see me.
When I sing a song in my head, the monster can’t ever hear me.
When I pretend my bedroom is a playground where I play hide and seek, the monster can’t ever find me.

The darkness should frighten me.
I should worry I’ll find more monsters…monsters scarier than him.
But I’m not afraid.

It’s safe here.
When I’m inside of my head…

He. Can’t. Ever. Touch. Me.

Warning:
Whispers and the Roars is a dark romance. Strong sexual themes and violence, which could trigger emotional distress are found in this story. The abuse written in this story is graphic and not glossed over which could be upsetting to some. Proceed with caution. This story is NOT for everyone.

Release Date: 6th December, 2016

5-star

What I think?

I’ll say but one thing- this book is the reason people fall in love with reading.

What else?

I don’t know. It’s gonna be really hard to review this book without destroying it for others, because trust me. You need to just go in blind on this one.

Well for starters, everyone one of my friends on GR had already read it and everyone was raving about it, and it seems like I was the only one who hadn’t still touched it, although it had been on my to-read shelf for forever. Today, I just decided that to hell with it, I’ll just start reading it as I had nothing better to do, so there I was, innocently unaware of how this book was going to completely rock me.

“You are terrifying and strange and beautiful, something not everyone knows how to love.”

Unique. Terrible. Mindblowing. And Goddammit-what-the-hell-did-I-just-read.

Those are the things that come to mind when I think about this book.

The story was unique. The events in the book were terrible, and I want to cut a bitch because bastard is in jail and I can’t already cut his dick off and feed it to him. The whole plot was mindblowing, because really, read it and tell me otherwise if you can. And Goddammit-what-the-hell-did-I-just-read, because really! What the hell did I just read!

Like I said, I was flying blind, and I wanted to trust the author’s words and not read a review because she said it would make a better reading experience. So I didn’t. I didn’t even read my friend’s reviews because of that, just noted the fact that most of them loved it.

And since I can’t talk about the plot, let me talk about myself, because I’m a narcissistic bitch like that.

I was very confused in the beginning. Things were happening and I had no idea why or what with clarity, because Webster does a really good job of drawing the attention elsewhere, until you are left staring at the picture and not seeing it. Really it was so obvious, that when it did finally come to light I was like “holy fuck, no way!” That plot twist was a thing of beauty if you must know.

It was very intense, and the whole atmosphere of the book was so captivating and at the same time mysteriously sexual that I was left feeling a bit dirty in the end. The good kind.

Let me tell you, I went all “uh-oh whaa!” bigtime when I read about Yeo and Bones. And then I got surprisingly aroused. (But that is for a different time because my sexual arousals are very complicated, and I don’t understand them myself clearly lol.) That whole scene had me convinced that this book was going towards a threesome- and I wasn’t going to complain.

Here’s what I thought was happening initially (when I started the book that is)-

Bones was munching on Kady→ Kady was hopping on Yeo’s dong→ Yeo was riding Bones’ arse.

I. Couldn’t. Have. Been. More. Wrong.

More or less at least.

And Holy. Shit.

I remember thinking at around 55% that if somehow for some reason Bones wasn’t real, my heart was going to break in so many different pieces. That was a few pages before the reveal BTW. And really, I was heartbroken, but for completely different reason in the end.

This was a journey of self-discovery, acceptance and love so unconditional that it will move you to the bones. Every single character was so complex that the ending felt like watching the death of an entire family. And let’s not talk about Bones, because he was so badass that I can’t take it. That man is #goals.

Reading this book was like trying to catch will-o-wisps in a field of fireflies. Something flashes in front of your face and then you are whisked away before you can think more on it or get monumentally distracted by it. But you are left with the feeling that you’ve just seen something important because it remains stored in your head until the author was prepared to show you the bigger picture.

This was my first Webster book, and it was absolutely brilliant. Nothing less.

“She may be hiding from love, but love will eventually find her.”

royal junkie button—Get this book—

amazon-filled-50goodreads-letter-logo

About the author:

K Webster is the author of dozens of romance books in many different genres including contemporary romance, historical romance, paranormal romance, and erotic romance. When not spending time with her husband of twelve years and two adorable children, she’s active on social media connecting with her readers.

Her other passions besides writing include reading and graphic design. K can always be found in front of her computer chasing her next idea and taking action. She looks forward to the day when she will see one of her titles on the big screen.

facebook-letter-logo1twitter-filled-502goodreads-letter-logoquill-with-ink-52

One thought on “Whispers and the Roars- K. Webster

  1. Pingback: Dirty Ugly Toy- K. Webster | Readin' Under Street-Lamps

Leave a Reply

