For Finlay- J. Nathan

About this book:32616146

Finlay Thatcher is a lost soul, guilt-ridden after the death of her twin brother. When Alabama’s football coach gives her the opportunity to work for him, she knows it’s her chance to move on, even if it means living her brother’s dream.

Caden Brooks is Alabama’s star quarterback. He’s got it all. The attention of adoring fans. A girlfriend who’d do anything to hold on to him. And a future in the pros. He’s getting along just fine until Finlay steps into his life, despising him at first sight and pushing his buttons like no other.

Unfortunately for Finlay, and her attempt to keep Caden at arm’s length, there’s nothing Caden loves more than a challenge. The problem with this challenge is she comes with a secret that has the power to destroy everything.

Release Date: 30th January, 2017

3-star

What I think?

Eh, okay. I’m going to get straight up brutally honest on this one.

For starters, very weirdly the thought of a twin brother dying kind of disturbed me. No, I don’t have a twin brother, so I was really freaked out when it unsettled me. And no, he does not die gruesomely (he has a heart-attack while on field). And also, no, death does not disturb me. I like reading that shit. So if you know me, you know that me getting unsettled by a book is a good thing for the book, it means that the writer has done something right. Kudos to Nathan for that.

So now you are wondering why I rated this book a 3 star. That’s not a bad thing people. It just wasn’t a 4 star book for me, and that is the sole reason. This book wasn’t a bad one, but it wasn’t a great one either. It was just a good one.

So let’s talk about the book-

Finlay had a lot of guilt over the fact that she could never mend her relationship with the twin brother she loved so much before he died, and basically hates Caden because he had taken Cole (her twin’s) place as the quarterback. Also because he had laughed in Cole’s funeral.

Yeah that would make me hate someone too.

Now to Caden- some might say that he was good, but I just found him kind of childish for a lack of better word. His attraction to Finlay comes completely out of left field for me. It was like they spent some time together, and he STILL kept saying that girls would do anything to get him, and then they were kissing and were in love and shit.

Mind you he just dumps his girlfriend because Finlay is THE one.

Okay, I’m making this sound really bad.

Caden wasn’t that bad, but he was just not swoon-worthy. Does that make sense?

I wasn’t really impressed by him until the end. Plus the whole misunderstanding kind of killed my entire mood. I like stories with adult characters who act adult in situations that require an adult behavior.

If only the entire conversation went like this—

CadenWho was Cole Thatcher to you, lovely girl o’ mine?

FinlayWhy do you ask monsieur?

CadenI found his jersey and your pics in your room, senorita.

FinlayOh my! He was my twin brother who died two years ago. I have those because I loved him and I miss him very much. (throws herself on the bed, and cries loudly and like an 80’s diva)

CadenOh ma belle! I’m so sorry. Come ‘ere! Come ‘ere! Let me make it all better with my extremely manly arms and my magical dick.

*kisskisskiss*

(BTW, they are not French, Spanish, and whatever the fuck language I used to depict them here)

Do you SEE how uncomplicated that one question could’ve made the entire situation? Ugh I hate such stupid misunderstandings. Me thinks Finlay ought to kick Caden where the sun don’t shine for being a righteous asshole.

But that aside, I really liked Cole more than the living characters at least. He was a perfect brother- sweet, caring, and understanding. That letter was very heart-touching.

This book was saved by the ending because that was really good. So good that it redeemed all the earlier faults.

—Get this book—

amazon-filled-50goodreads-letter-logo

About the author:

J. Nathan is the author of the new adult romances For Finlay, Before Hadley, Until Alex, and Since Drew. When she’s not writing, she’s a total romance junkie! Add an alpha male who’s unlikable in the beginning… even better. Happy endings are a must. Love triangles and negative people are the bane of her existence. Her family, friends, guys in backwards hats, and watermelon margaritas are the light…

facebook-letter-logo1twitter-filled-502goodreads-letter-logoquill-with-ink-52

Leave a Reply

