Friction- Emily Snow

About this book:

3-friction-e-book-cover

Former overachiever Lucy WillIams sucks at adulting.

Recent divorce, check.

Pending lawsuit, check.

A move back to Boston to live with her mother, triple check.

It can’t get much worse, right?

When she starts her new marketing job at EXtreme Effects, she’s positive shit’s stopped hitting the fan. Sure, what she’s advertising is a little … unorthodox, but it pays the bills. And since she’s seconds away from becoming Lucy Williams: Wednesday Night Bingo Enthusiast, she needs money to get the hell out of her mother’s house.

The only problem is her boss, Mr. Extreme himself: Jace Exley. He’s everything any sane woman dreams of—alpha, successful, ridiculously gorgeous. He’s also Lucy’s worst nightmare. Because like every overachiever, she has that underachiever she brushed off. The slacker who, once upon a time ago, was the object of her dirtiest schoolgirl fantasies.

Jace Exley—with his sarcastic smirk and delicious accent—just happens to be that guy.

And the friction between them?

Well, that’s the only adulting Lucy seems to be winning at.

Release Date: 18th January, 2017

3-5-star

What I think?

I started this book last night, and I have to say, I was hooked right from the very beginning.

Lucy is a recent divorcee, living with her widowed mother, desperate for a job after her asshole of an husband makes it impossible for her to find one anywhere.

And then she finds one- on Craigslist.

Yeah, let’s just say that she’s as skeptical about it as I was.

It actually gets better- she’s a PR woman, and basically has no idea about the company where she’s going to interview, and as if that wasn’t enough, her interviewer- Jace Exley turns out to be the boy she loved to hate in high-school.

So clearly there’s no shortage of drama from the very beginning.

EXtreme Effects, as it turns out, is not a place where they make metal clockworks, although how she did not already clue in is beyond me. It was hilarious- the reveal. I was perhaps just as flabbergasted and surprised as her, but at the same time I burst out laughing when she finally realized where she was working.

I won’t spoil that for you, because the reveal is a classic that you should be left to enjoy.

Now to Jace and Lucy- I loved their chemistry. There was so much heat between them, I could feel my phone heating up from it, it’s a miracle that the damn thing didn’t melt. They were the absolutely correct ratio of snarky sarcastic humor, and hot hot pheromones. Watching all their exchanges was just as amusing as it was sexy.

And the sex- let’s talk about the sex. It was mind blowing, very hawt, and like Jace would say “fucking is natural”. It certainly came naturally to this book.

I really liked how the author toed the line between casual and a sugary sweet relationship the entire book, never crossing over to the other side. I was very thankful for it.

And then comes the photo.

Like WHAT THE EVER LOVING FUCK LUCY!

I swear I hit my head on the wall when I read her taking the snapchat selfie, when it was made so apparently clear from the very beginning of her job that she was not to take any pictures under any circumstances. See that kind of careless stupidity is why people get into completely pointless trouble. That was her asking- no fuck that, that was her begging for trouble to come knocking her doors. Like COME ON!

So despite her momentary insanity, and my not-so-momentary frustration, I was so very happy to see her own up to what she did. Instead of leaving Jace in the swamps to fight alone, she goes in and takes all the blame for herself. It was admirable, is what I want to say. I absolutely loved how the author wrapped everything up in the end.

This was my first book by Ms. Snow, and I am definitely going to check out more, because she not only writes beautifully, but she also made me feel everything the characters were feeling- their helplessness, their love, their longing, their sadness- everything. That was one of the few reasons why I just couldn’t put this book down.

“At some point, while Jace and I were carrying on our casual relationship, I had fallen for him. I had fallen for the sardonic way he said my name and the wicked look he gave me when he called me buttoned-up. I had fallen for the boy who gave me so much grief in high school, the boy with a beautiful accent, the man who wouldn’t return my calls.”

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

 

Get this book:

amazon-filled-50goodreads-letter-logo

About the Author:

Emily Snow is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the DEVOURED series and TIDAL. She loves books, sexy bad boys, and really loud rock music, so naturally, she writes stories about all three.

facebook-letter-logo1goodreads-letter-logotwitter-512quill-with-ink-52

One thought on “Friction- Emily Snow

  1. Pingback: Release Tour: Friction- Emily Snow | Readin' Under Street-Lamps

Leave a Reply

