Low over High- J. A. DeRouen

About the book:26722613

I fancy myself a purveyor of truth, a sifter of lies, a cutter of bullshit. It’s not a gift, but rather, all skill, honed to a razor’s edge after one too many trips down the rabbit hole.

Some may dismiss my talent as misplaced and misguided cynicism, but they’d be wrong. Cliches about hope and faith in mankind are concocted unicorn farts, an effort to keep the dreamers dreaming. Experiences don’t lie—people do.

While I’m not proud of the circumstances that led me to this way of thinking, I respect the journey. The road to enlightenment can be dark and foreboding, but the destination makes it all worthwhile.

But funny thing about the past—it’s a defiant child refusing to stay in time out. No matter how deeply buried, it can always pop up when least expected, and sink its fucking claws into the flesh of your heart. No, not my heart—I no longer have one. I foolishly gave it away years ago, but I still feel the ripping in my chest as I fist the crumpled note left on my porch.

I’ve avoided this day, ran from it, for the past eight years.
And still we meet again.

But to truly understand … to feel my dread and fear my future as I do, it’s important to know what happened in my past.

Or who…

My name is Marlo Rivers, and this is my story of corrupted love.

MATURE AUDIENCES ONLY 18+
Warning: This book contains graphic content which may not be suitable for sensitive readers.

Release Date: 14th November, 2016

 4-star

What I think?

This book! Bloody hell this book!

It was everything one wants to read when they think of a good book- snarky humor, tormented hero, hilariously sarcastic & bitchy heroine, and an excellent writing.

AKA a complete book.

I loved this book, if it is not already obvious.

We meet Marlow, a jaded 25 year old, who tells us why and how she came to have such a cynical view of life, so from the prologue itself you already know that this book either has a cliff-hanger, or a not so HEA ending.

We travel 8 years into the past to meet a 17 year old Marlow, who leaves her Texas ranch to stay near her biological mother in New Orleans. There in school she runs into Ever- aka asshole extraordinaire.

Their beginning was so fucking hilarious, each of them going out of their way to make the other miserable, and their poems, god their poems cracked me up so bad lol.

“Ever be nimble,
Ever be quick,
Ever can’t find his teeny, tiny dick.”

Let’s just say, the author knows how to give the correct amount of humorous punch.

Then came the “falling in love period”.

“Kissing Ever is like breaking the surface of the ocean. Legs kicking, arms flailing, and then that precious moment when air rushes into your lungs, giving you the one thing you need the most. Yeah, kissing Ever is just like that.”

Both Low and Ever slowly began to fall in love, and it was so absolutely sweet. But then it’s like everything went to shit at once. Ever’s demons came crawling out of their dens and dragged him in, and Low, in an attempt to save him goes in, but then she too becomes a victim.

And then, in an attempt to survive, Low leaves.

I absolutely loved the writing, it was beautiful and haunting. The author certainly knows how to build a relationship, and make the readers feel the pain of her characters. This was my first DeRouen book, and I’m definitely gonna check out more.

“How do you measure the weight of a whisper? It’s infinitesimally heavier than any word spoken aloud. Whispers shouted into the void, when no one else is listening? Those are the heaviest of all. So Ever’s faint “I love you” told to my presumably sleeping form (closed eyes and open ears) weighs a metric ton. It anchors me to him … for forever, I think.
When I wake in the morning, Ever is gone.”

Get this book:

amazon-filled-50goodreads-letter-logo

About the author:

J.A. Derouen resides in South Louisiana with her husband, son (aptly nicknamed “The Professor”), and her furry friend, Scout. She has earned bachelor’s degrees in psychology and nursing. When she’s not writing or inhaling romance novels by the stack, she works as a women’s health nurse. She’s been an avid reader and daydreamer since childhood, and she’s never stopped turning the page to get to the next happily ever after.

goodreads-letter-logotwitter-512quill-with-ink-52

Books in this series:

     26722613     30811712

Save

Leave a Reply

