Ever over After- J. A. DeRouen

About this book:30811712

Marlo … wild-eyed, untamed, and every single thing I’ve ever wanted from this life. I wasn’t ready for her back then. I was a stupid boy with adult feelings and no idea what to do with them. I squandered away every chance she gave me.

Yes, love like ours either burns white hot or crumbles under the pressure.
And now I’m back to sift through the rubble.

Questions and excuses are two things I have in spades. What I need now are answers.
Answers and Low.
Always Low.

My name is Ever Montgomery, and this is my story of love resurrected.

Release date: 9th January, 2017

 4-star

What I think?

This book begins where the last one ended, with Low having a real cynical view of love, and life. She doesn’t really believe in HEA’s and I guess that is completely understandable, since the boy she loved chose drugs over her and then she was brutally raped by a man she trusted.

But then things go to shit, her entire carefully constructed life begins to crumble when Ever returns, and isn’t ready to take no for an answer.

“Time passes, memories fade, but feelings are forever. I know you can feel this, Low. So give in to me.”

This entire book is like a tug of war, with Low insisting that they both move on- from the past and the people in it, and Ever wanting to just show her that they are made for each other. It was hilarious, extremely sweet and kinda frustrating, because all I wanted to do was stand up scream at Low to just give Ever a fighting chance, and to let him help her heal.

The secondary characters were fantastic, they were funny, and very supportive and protective of Low. Something tells me that they probably have a story of their own, and I am definitely gonna check it out.

That being said, DeRouen’s writing really was amazing. It had just the correct pinch of haunting, and angst, and dry snarky humor. She’s definitely an author I’m gonna keep coming back to. No doubts about it.

“I’ve spent nearly two decades of my life tormenting myself and everyone around me, so trust me when I say I know what I’m talking about. There comes a time in life where you make the decision to either nurture the pain … or let it go. One is much more gratifying than the other.”

Get this book:

amazon-filled-50goodreads-letter-logo

About the author:

J.A. Derouen resides in South Louisiana with her husband, son (aptly nicknamed “The Professor”), and her furry friend, Scout. She has earned bachelor’s degrees in psychology and nursing. When she’s not writing or inhaling romance novels by the stack, she works as a women’s health nurse. She’s been an avid reader and daydreamer since childhood, and she’s never stopped turning the page to get to the next happily ever after.

goodreads-letter-logotwitter-512quill-with-ink-52

Books in this series:

     26722613     30811712

Leave a Reply

