Bad Mommy- Tarryn Fisher

About the book:33561990.jpg

When Fig Coxbury buys a house on West Barrett Street, it’s not because she likes the neighborhood, or even because she likes the house. It’s because everything she desires is next door: The husband, the child, and the life that belongs to someone else.
Release Date: 24th December, 2016

5-star

What I think?

This book fucked me in the head. Not fucked me up, but fucked me in the head.

Seriously, I know that Tarryn Fisher is a brilliant writer alright, because even if I only read one book- Fuck Love- it was enough for me to know that she’s talented, and I didn’t even like that book very much. So yes, I was a little hesitant to go into this book, but everyone was talking about it, and I just had to read it.

I’m glad I did.

I’m really fucking glad I did, because goddammit this book was brilliant. The writing was so satisfying, almost like you could melt every word and spin it into a blanket and bury yourself under it, and live comfortably for the rest of your life.

I guess that tells you how much I like this book eh?

It was psychotic! Full of mentally deranged and obsessive characters! What could I do! That’s a complete weakness of mine.

When I started reading the book, I kept getting sidetracked by little things, and it took me forever to finish the first chapter, but as Fig’s manic actions started taking shape, I just couldn’t put the book down.

And fuck! I did not even know until I reached Part 3 whether I should hate Fig or not. Was she the protagonist? Was she going to end up with Darius? Was she going to get an HEA even though she’s the biggest bitch I’ve ever read of? I swear I was so clueless that my mind was spinning until Jolene started her narrative.

Fig was very interesting, perhaps one of the most interesting character’s I’ve ever read in a while. It was pretty clear from the very beginning that she was a little cuckoo in the head- like thinking that a completely random blond haired baby girl carried the soul of her daughter- the daughter she lost in a miscarriage. And that she could be a better mother and wife to the husband and child of her best-friend/neighbour Jolene. But at the same time, she was very intelligent, very manipulative and also gave me some real creeps.

“Her abandonment of social graces and her acute perception of moods was my favorite thing about her. She’d call you crazy while being fucking crazy. It was kind of hot. My least favorite thing—her Looney Tune eyes. God, they gave me the creeps. You could almost picture fucking her until you got to the eyes. They were like those of the women I’d seen in the psych ward during my internship.”

Enter Darius- Jolene’s husband, Fig’s “love”, a psychologist, and a sociopath.

Can I say he took me by surprise? Because he definitely took me by surprise. He was not who I expected him to be. I thought Darius and and Fig were similar early on into Part 2, until I realized that he was his own brand of crazy. The kind of crazy that took advantage of his patients and still could justify his actions. It was his narrative that finally hooked me into the story, because what a twist!

“For all my shit talking, I liked Fig. She made me feel less fucked up, because let’s face it, it was hard to reach the level of fucked up that was Fig Coxbury. After all, I’d never stalked anyone. That shit was messed up.

And then there was Jolene- the reason this book existed at all. She was a genius. I have to give her that. Even if a little late tube-light, her part was the most interesting of the all the three. I felt like I could finally relate to what was happening, because Fig’s and Darius’s were like watching a train wreak- endlessly fascinating, but not something you could exactly relate to until you were the one sitting inside of it. She was not someone we could call normal, but she was not as far gone like Fig and Darius. The absolute perfect conclusion I think.

“I fell in love with who a person could be and then Helen Keller dug her fingers into my brain and I was all hear no evil, see no evil, la la la la la. They didn’t always choose to be what they could be. That’s what happened with Fig, I think. I was learning. Slowly, but surely, like one of Fig’s suicide trains. Chugging up the tracks, gaining speed. I could see the truth in people now. “

And that ending!

Holy damn that ending! It was a little freaky and just brilliant. I know I’m using that a lot, but this book was brilliant. No sense using another word. That ending deserves a standing ovation because it was so good.

Well what else do I have to say, I guess this will become my to go book anytime I want to read something that just messes with me.

Ms. Fisher, I guess you did make me fall in love with you afterall.

“I can make you a part of something great and beautiful and still portray you as the ugly thing you are.”

royal junkie button—Get this book—amazon-filled-50goodreads-letter-logo

About the author:

I would like to write a novel that every, single person loves, but not even J.K. Rowling could do that. Instead, I try to write stories that pull on people’s emotions. I believe that sadness is the most powerful emotion, and swirled with regret the two become a dominating force. I love villains. Three of my favorites are Mother Gothel, Gaston and the Evil Queen who all suffered from a pretty wicked case of vanity (like me). I like to make these personality types the center of my stories.
I love rain, Coke, Starbucks and sarcasm. I hate bad adjectives and the word “smolder”. If you read my book-I love you. If you hate my book-I still love you, but please don’t be mean to me; I’m half badass, half cry baby.

goodreads-letter-logotwitter-512Quill With Ink-52.png

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

