Take Me With You- Nina G Jones

About the book31497687

I watch.
I study.
I prowl.
I hunt.

I always go in with a plan. A set of rules for myself. I don’t take unnecessary risks. That’s how I’ve been able to evade capture all these years.

But there’s something about this girl that is different than the others. When I finally meet her, the rules become a blur. And I break the most important one of all–I take her with me.

—–

It’s just my imagination–that feeling of being watched. That those icy eyes– a vivid turquoise with a distinct golden fleck–aren’t watching me.

It’s just stress. I am the person everyone relies on. Maybe that’s why I haven’t been feeling so content with my life lately. Why I dream those eyes belong to someone who can tear me away from all of my responsibilities.

But these are just shameful fantasies, never meant to breach reality.

Then one night, the dream comes true, only it’s a horrific nightmare.

Now, I only have one task: survival.

Trigger warning: If you need one, this is really not the book for you.

Release date: 15th October, 2016

5-star

What I think:

No seriously.

WTF did I just read!?

Ms. Jones, thank you so much for messing me up so bad that I love Sam.. almost more than I hate him. And I don’t think I am supposed to love him.

Nuh uh. Nada.

Going in to the book, you get a warning, that it may be too much for some readers, that there are trigger warnings (many Dark Romance books have them), but I don’t think there are many that deserve them.

This book does.

It was dark.

Dirty.

And so damn angsty.

“It’s when you are secure in your sleep, in the safety of your warm covers, when you think you are most alone. That’s when I come, when every last guard is down.”

Sam, he was a night prowler. He was The Night Prowler. He broke into people’s houses and took over their lives, their wives and their homes for the night. He lived their life and then left, uncaring of the destruction in his wake.

“I am the storm. Strong and violent. Dangerous. I will tear down anything in my path to have her. When I roll through, you see evidence of me all around. You will see branches broken, windows shattered. I will move obstacles that seem insurmountable.”

And he is obsessed with a girl- a girl with a family, a girl with a fiancé, a girl with a little brother that did not fit with the society.

Vesper was a 20-something nursing student, who felt like everyone depended on her being a good girl. A good woman. And in one night, everything changes when the Night Prowler attacks her, and in order to save her family, she begs him to take her.

And take her, he does.

“I have news for you, Vesp. When you’re fucked up like me—like that—heaven and hell aren’t very different.”

With her in his captivity, Sam strives to break her, and mould her into something that would fit with him, while Vesp fights him, unknowingly killing parts of herself that she sustained for society.

The time in her captivity is really detailed, right down to the last gory happening. Jones did not gloss over any part that made Sam less of evil. She painted him every part of the monster he was.

And he really was one.

“That’s the thing about keeping a person alive. In a way you are just as much a hostage to them as they are to you.”

We get glimpses of Sam’s life. Reasons why he is so fucked up. Sam’s childhood was horrible, he lived with a paranoid and deranged mother, and was pretty much abused by his father because he had a speech impediment problem that made him shy in front of others.

I’m not saying that those are excuses for someone to grow up into a psychopathic rapist and murderer, but you get to see him as a man that just wanted to be accepted into the society.

““Oh god,” I call out, knowing that there is no such thing down here. At least not the one to which we say our evening prayers. Only Night.”

And Vesper gave him that, she made him feel like he was wanted when she accepted him with his scars, despite him being her kidnapper and rapist.

In the beginning, we really see Vesp’s struggle to come to terms with her new reality. She tries her best to escape him, but when the price becomes too much to pay, she settles down and tries to get him to get attached to her so that he wouldn’t just kill her on a whim.

She handles all the situation brilliantly, except for the fact that she is left alone and in love with her torturer.

Serious case of Stockholm’s syndrome?

Absolutely.

Like I said, this book is fucked up. The ending was not something that was very easy for me to accept, mostly because I felt like Sam must be made to pay for his crimes, but at the same time I wanted them to end up together, because..

fuck if I know.

I can assure you, I was as confused and agonized over Vesper’s decision as Vesper herself was.

But really, I just think that is goes to show you what a great writer Jones is. This was my second book by her, and I can easily say that she is one of my favorite Dark Romance writers. This book was brilliant, and what a great way to start the year!

“It’s what I felt when his eyes first met mine. It’s the most thrilling thing to be told you are precious. That you are so valuable it puts you in danger. Nothing of such high regard can exist in this world without causing a storm. When a man covets something so strongly, he is its greatest threat.”

royal junkie button—Get this book—

amazon-filled-50goodreads-letter-logo

About the author:

By day, Nina G. Jones works for an internet startup and is a freelance copywriter. She lives with her husband and two dogs.

By night, she explores the hidden recesses of the human psyche in her writing.

Nina has a background in Psychology and uses this as a starting point for her writing. She adds depth to her characters by exploring their psychological motivations. Due to the nature of the topics she explores, Nina does not shy away from explicit language, sexuality, or violence. Despite covering some heavy topics, Nina finds a way to infuse humor into her writing as well.

She has a particular fascination with people who appear to be “normal” or “successful” by all outside appearances who are hiding a secret life.

goodreads-letter-logotwitter-512quill-with-ink-52

Leave a Reply

